Top Ten Tuesday: If you liked X then you’ll love…

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s topic is: If you liked X then you’ll love …

I think I’ll break this up into two lots of five.

The book that I’ll suggest my first five recommendations from will be Divergent by Veronica Roth.

The most obvious one to suggest straight away is the sequel, Insurgent. But I think that’s a little bit too much like cheating 😛 so I’ll suggest 5 others… Starting with:

1. If you liked Divergent then you’ll love Tomorrow When the War Began..

This is probably the first dystopian story I ever read. A group of teenagers go out camping in the Australian bush and when they return they find out that there’s a war going on and they’re the only people who haven’t been rounded up and put in a concentration camp. When I was in high school this was the book to be seen reading but it’s got a great story too.

2. If you enjoyed Divergent then you’ll love Delirium by Lauren Oliver

I finished this book in the early hours of this morning and I can’t get it out of my head. Another dystopian world – this time where Love is considered to be a deadly disease. But thankfully it’s one where there’s a cure available to everyone over the age of eighteen.

3. If you liked Divergent then you’ll enjoy… The Host by Stephenie Meyer

I’m not a fan of the Twilight series. But I think this book would appeal to fans and non-fans alike. The world has been taken over by aliens – no one is safe. After Melanie gets inserted with a “soul” named Wanderer, she tries as hard as she can to stop the soul getting her memories so she can keep her brother and potential love interest, Jared, safe.

4. If you liked Divergent then you’ll enjoy The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I’m one of those people who actually discovered Divergent after reading the Hunger Games. This book completely shocked me. I went in not knowing anything about what it was about (I honestly thought it was about people being hungry) and could not have been more surprised when I found out it was a bit like lethal Survivor. But I adored it.

5. If you enjoyed Divergent then you’ll like Cinder by Marissa Meyer

A futuristic fairy tale set in a world in ruin. It’s one of my favourite reads from this year and I think that it’ll appeal to fans of Divergent.

For my second five recommendations I’ll suggest some authors you might like if you like contemporary YA novels.

1. Meg Cabot

When I was in high school I discovered Meg Cabot’s books and I’ve been reading them ever since. I absolutely adored her Mediator series and the 1-800 Where R U books. They were some of the first books that I read in the teen genre and I was captivated by the first few pages.

2. Melina Marchetta

She’s one of my favourite authors and she manages to write both contemporary and paranormal YA fiction beautifully. My favourites by her would be Looking for Alibrandi and Saving Francesca

3. Sarah Dessen

A few years ago I managed to track down as many Sarah Dessen books as I could and read them all within a matter of weeks. I think I burnt myself out a little on them but they’re beautiful books that deal with real teenage issues. The Truth about Forever is one of hers that I enjoyed the most.

4. Megan McCafferty

For me, Sloppy Firsts is one of those novels that I can’t go past as  being one of those defining YA novels in my life. On the surface it’s just about a sixteen year old girl who’s just going through life. Nothing all that exciting. But there’s something about the main character, Jessica Darling, that I connected with and I could relate to her on so many points. This is why the Jessica Darling series, and Megan McCafferty is on my list of YA Contemporary authors that you’d like if you like the genre.

5. Judy Blume

And oldie but a goodie. Judy Blume is one of those authors that seemed to cover all sorts of teen issues back when it was a little taboo to write about things like teen sex and relationships like in Forever

 

So I may have cheated by having two different lists of five… but there you have my recommendations. 🙂

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: If you liked X then you’ll love…

  1. I need to read Delirium. Everybody’s talking about it! I just need to do it already!

    I read The Hunger Games the week it came out, back in 2008 and I’d never read anything like it. Now, there is a ton of dystopian fiction but non as good as THG, in my opinion.

  2. I like the variety of your list. I loved The Host, THG and Delirium, so I’ve always wanted to try Divergent and Cinder. Tomorrow when the war began is something I’ve never heard of though, and it sounds simply wonderful! I’m going to go out looking for it.

    Judy Blume, Megan McCafferty and Meg Cabot are geniuses, though I’ve never read Dressen. So perhaps I should give her a try too.

  3. I still need to read Divergent! Man. I actually didn’t care a lot for Tomorrow, When the War Began. I’m not sure what it was, but it just didn’t quite catch me! And I looove Meg Cabot. I’ve actually read her “adult” fiction so I’m really interested in checking out more of her YA stuff!

    • I love her adult stuff too. I’m thrilled that there’s a fourth Heather Wells novel coming out soon!

      I’m not the hugest fan of her Princess Diaries series – I think they were a little young for me and the narrator sort of annoyed me – but I loved all the other ones that I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s