Book Review: Truth or Dare by Ella Monroe

Title: Truth or Dare (Capital Girls #3)
Author: Ella Monroe
Genre: contemporary, romance, chick lit
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: April 2013
Pages: 304 pages
Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis (from goodreads):
Jackie, Lettie, and Laura Beth barely survived the holidays . . . literally.  Jackie’s on lockdown while the hunt is on for her stalker, who somehow got into the White House and left her an ominous note. Laura Beth and Sol are finally back together after a scandal almost tore them apart, and Lettie, who’s forced to live with Whitney and her gossip-mongering mom, has let down her guard enough to fall in love with Daniel.  For the Capital Girls life is always complicated, especially when they’re under 24-hour media scrutiny. But that won’t stop the three friends from making their senior year the most amazing ever—even as the mystery deepens over Taylor Cane’s death and First Son Andrew Price’s role in it.

My Review:

Truth or Dare is a brilliant addition to the Capital Girls series. Things are getting more complicated for the Capital Girls. Laura Beth’s stepdad-to-be is ramping up his political campaign and putting a wedge inbetween LB and her BFF Jackie. But Jackie has more on her mind than just politics. She’s caught in a love triangle between the First Sons not to mention her stalker still hasn’t been caught. Lettie is trying to adjust to life with her parents living in a different country and her being taken in by a celebrity blogger who is using Lettie’s White House connections to further her career.

Things just keep getting more and more entangled as the girls mourn Taylor’s death whilst at the same time trying to get to the bottom of just what happened on the night of the car accident.

I loved how this book managed to combine so many different storylines and dramas whilst at the same time successfully weaving them together. All the girls are managing to grow – all three seemed more mature than in the previous book – but still keeping their teenage sensibilities  Laura Beth is learning that maybe her dreams of the spotlight aren’t what they’re cracked up to be. Jackie has a personal dilemma to sort out and doesn’t know if she should follow her heart or keep her head in the political game. And Lettie is the sweet girl who balances out her larger than life friends.

I recommend this series for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl who love Mean Girls with a political twist.

Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Griffin for the review copy.

Purchase the novel from:

Amazon
Book Depository 

Also by Ella Monroe:

   Capital Girls (Capital Girls 1)
Amazon / Book Depository

Secrets and Lies (Capital Girls 2)
Amazon / Book Depository 

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: Truth or Dare by Ella Monroe

  1. I think it’s neat that there are 3 different main characters, and that you said they grew! I really love it when book series show the characters developing and becoming more mature with the series. 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s