Top Ten Tuesday: Books Dealing with Tough Subjects

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of their bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

I’m going to break this down into a few different categories.

Suicide

Thirteen Reasons WhyThe S-WordSaving June

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher [review]

The S-Word by Chelsea Pitcher [review]

Saving June by Hannah Harrington [review]

Teen Pregnancy

MeganMegan 2Megan 3

Megan, Megan 2 and Megan 3 by Mary Hooper

Abuse

Hopeless (Hopeless, #1)Speak

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Cancer

The Fault in Our StarsA Walk to Remember

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green [review]

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

Sarah Dessen

She gets a category of her very own. She writes such lovely books that sometimes deal with really tough issues. Eating disorders, Teen Pregnancy, suicide, death, divorce – I think she may be the queen when it comes to young adult books that deal with tough issues.

A few of my favourite by her are:

Just ListenSomeone Like YouThe Truth About Forever

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

So I may have cheated and gotten a few more than 10… but I liked coming up with books for this week’s topic. There are so many books out there dealing with serious issues and I can’t wait to check out other people’s lists from this week to see the books they listed!

Follow on Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Dealing with Tough Subjects

  1. I love your Sarah Dessen category!!! She definitely tackles a lot of issues in her books!! I can’t wait for The Moon and More! Also 13 Reasons Why, Speak, and TFIOS are definitely favorites of mine 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  2. Great list of books you have here! I love all of Sarah Dessen’s books (that I’ve read) and love how she deals with tough issues. Saving June was on my list as I absolutely LOVE it and think it deals with suicide really aptly without feeling distasteful. The Fault In Our Stars is a really good book as well, really raw and rich and powerful 🙂

    Feel free to check out my top ten here

    Faye 🙂

    • Me too! And that’s a huge reason why she got a category of her on my list – because so many of her books just stand out in my mind her characters are so real and vivid to me despite it being years since I read them. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a comment